Web Content Viewer

$$ Kim Bruce Yancey, MD Professor and Chair at UT Southwestern Medical Center


UTSW Physician Practicing at Children's Health

Board Certification American Board of Dermatology/Dermatopathology
Languages Spoken: English


Kim Yancey M.D., is a dermatologist at Children’s Health℠ and has been a National Institutes of Health-funded researcher for more than 25 years.

After graduating from the University of Georgia, summa cum laude and valedictorian, Dr. Yancey earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia and performed his residency training there. He completed a postdoctoral fellowship in immunodermatology in the dermatology branch of the National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health.

Dr. Yancey is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Society for Investigative Dermatology, the American Academy of Dermatology, the American Dermatological Association and numerous other professional organizations. He is a former Director and Vice President of the American Board of Dermatology, the former President of the Society for Investigative Dermatology, a member of several editorial boards and a member of numerous professional organizations.

Dr. Yancey is certified by the American Board of Dermatology, and also holds special competence in dermatologic immunology and diagnostic laboratory immunology.

Education and Training

Education and Training

Medical School

Medical College of Georgia/Georgia Regents University (1978)


Medical College of Georgia - Children's (1979), Internal Medicine


Medical College of Georgia - Children's (1981), Dermatology


National Cancer Institute, NIH (1985), Allergy & Immunology
Departments & Programs

Departments & Programs

Research & Publications

Research & Publications

Research Interests

  • General dermatology
  • Autoimmune blistering diseases – pemphigus, pemphigoid, other
  • Skin cancer
  • Melanoma
  • Skin checks
  • Skin diseases in transplant patients

Selected Publications

  • The pathophysiology of autoimmune blistering diseases.. Yancey, K.B. J. Clin. Invest. 2005 115 825-828
  • Revertant mosaicism: partial correction of a germline mutation in COL17A1 by a frame restoring mutation., Darling, T.N., Yee, C., Bauer, J.W., Hintner, H., Yancey, K.B. J. Clin. Invest.1999 103 1371-1377
  • Autoreactive CD4+ T-cell responses to the extracellular domain of bullous pemphigoid antigen 2 (BPAG2) in patients with bullous pemphigoid., Budinger, L., Borradori, L., Yee, C., Merk, H.F., Yancey, K.B., Hertl, M. J. Clin. Invest. 1998 102 2082-2089
  • Passive transfer of anti-laminin 5 antibodies induces subepidermal blisters in neonatal mice., Lazarova, Z., Yee, C., Darling, T., Briggaman, R.A., Yancey, K.B. J. Clin. Invest.1996 98 1509-1518
  • Epiligrin, the major human keratinocye intergrin ligand, is the target of disease in both an acquired autoimmune and an inherited subepidermal blistering skin disease., Domloge-Hultsch, N., Gammon, W.R., Briggaman, R.A., Gil, S.G., Carter, W.G., Yancey, K.B. J. Clin. Invest. 1992 90 1628-1633

Professional Activities

Professional Activities

Professional Associations and Affiliations

  • American Academy of Dermatology
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Dermatological Association
  • American Society for Clinical Investigation
  • Society for Investigative Dermatology

Awards & Honors

Awards & Honors

  • Board of Directors, Dermatology Foundation (2008 to date) 
  • Deputy Editor, Journal of Investigative Dermatology, (2007-2010) 
  • Director, American Board of Dermatology (1997-2005) 
  • Executive Committee of Clinical Chairs, UTSW (2009 to 2012) 
  • President, Society for Investigative Dermatology (2011-2012) 
  • Sulzberger Award and Lecture, American Academy of Dermatology (2007) 
  • Vice President, American Board of Dermatology (2005) 

Appointments & Locations

Appointments & Locations