Susan Theresa Iannaccone, MD $$

Pediatric Neurologist

Professor at UT Southwestern Medical Center

Languages Spoken:


UT Southwestern Pediatric Group

Request an Appointment

Refer a Patient


After completing her training in pediatric neurology, Susan Iannaccone, M.D., focused her clinical and research efforts on helping children with neuromuscular conditions including those diagnosed with muscular dystrophy and spinal muscle atrophy. For more than 40 years, she has committed her career to improving the future health and well-being of the children she serves – each inspires her every day.

In addition to working as a pediatric neurologist at Children's Health℠, Dr. Iannaccone is a tenured Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology and Neurotherapeutics at UT Southwestern, where she holds the Warren A. Weinberg Endowed Chair for Pediatric Neurology and Learning. She is the Associate Director of Wellstone Center for Muscular Dystrophy at UT Southwestern. Throughout her career, Dr. Iannaccone has been an academic leader teaching hundreds of medical students, residents and fellows – inspiring the next generation of medical leaders.

Dr. Iannaccone earned her medical degree at State University of New York, Syracuse. She completed her residency in pediatrics at St. Louis University and her residency in neurology at Strong Memorial Hospital/University of Rochester, where she was Chief Resident. She is board-certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, with special qualification in child neurology.

Dr. Iannaccone is an active researcher and currently serves as the primary investigator or co-primary investigator for a number of clinical trials including the investigation of new treatments for spinal muscular atrophy and Duchenne muscular dystrophy. She has spent years researching these conditions and has been awarded grants for research from the National Institute of Health, the Muscular Dystrophy Association, FDA, CureSMA and other organizations. Her work, over 100 papers, has been published in peer reviewed journals.

As a muscular dystrophy and spinal muscular atrophy expert, Dr. Iannaccone lectures nationally and internationally, sharing her knowledge, latest advancements and best practices in the field of pediatric neuromuscular disease. She serves on numerous editorial boards including the Journal of Pediatric Neurology, Journal of Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine and Neuromuscular Disorders. She is a member of the top professional organizations, both nationally and internationally, including the American Academy of Neurology, the American Neurological Association, the International Child Neurology Association, American Society for Neurorehabilitation and more.

Since 1991, Dr. Iannaccone has volunteered as the Camp Physician in Charge at the Annual Muscular Dystrophy Association Camp for children. In recognition of her quality patient care, Dr. Iannaccone has been repeatedly recognized as a top pediatric specialist by D Magazine and Texas Monthly Magazine.

Education and Training

Medical School
State University of New York (SUNY) at Syracuse (1969)
SUNY Upstate Medical University (1970), Pediatrics
St. Louis Childrens Hospital (1972), Pediatrics
SUNY Upstate Medical University (1971), Pediatrics
Strong Mem Hosp Univ of Rochester (1975), Neurology
Board Certification
American Board of Psy&Neurology/Child Neurology
  • Research Interests

    • Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy
    • Neuromuscular diseases
    • Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)
  • Publications

    • Anterior Horn Cell and Cranial Motor Neuron Disease, onnolly AM and Iannaccone ST Pediatric Neurology, Principles and Practice 2006 Volume 2, Fourth Edition, 1859-1885, Mosby Elsevier, Philadelphia
    • Genetic Neurological Disease, Rosenerg RN and Iannaccone ST Comprehensive Neurology 2003 Rosenberg RN and Pleasure
    • Intensive Care Management, including Cardiorespiratory Care , Scott WWA and Iannaccone ST Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence, A Clinician’s Approach 2003 Chapter 37, Elsevier Science 1237-1250
    • Spinal muscular atrophies, Iannaccone ST, Burghes A Neuromuscular Disorders/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Philadelphia 2002 Volume 88
    • Spinal muscular atrophy, Iannaccone ST Continuum 2001
    • Novel LMNA mutations in patients with Emery-Dreifuss muscular dystrophy and functional characterization of four LMNA mutations, Scharner J, Brown CA, Bower M, Iannaccone ST, Khatri IA, Escolar D, Gordon E, Felice K, Crowe CA, Grosmann C, Meriggioli MN, Asamoah A, Gordon O, Gnocchi VF, Ellis JA, Mendell JR, Zammit PS Hum Mutat 2010 In Press
    • Congenital CHAT defects: clinical, genetic and expression studies in 11 patients, Shen X, Crawford T, Brengman J, Acsadi G, Iannaconne S, Karaca E, Khoury C, Mah JK, Edvardson S, Bajzer Z, Rodgers D, Engel AG Annals of Neurology 2010 In Press
    • The PedsQL? in Pediatric Patients with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy: Feasibility, Reliability, and Validity of the Pediatric Quality of Life Inventory? Neuromuscular Module and Generic Core Scales, Davis SE, Hynan LS, Limbers CA, Andersen M, Greene MC, Varni JW, and Iannaccone ST Journal of Clinical Neuromuscular Disease 2010 11 97-109
    • Reliability of telephone administration of the PedsQL Generic Quality of Life Inventory and Neuromuscular Module in spinal muscular atrophy (SMA), Dunaway S, Montes J, Montgomery M, Battista V, Koo B, Marra J, De Vivo DC, Hynan LS, Iannaccone ST, Kaufmann P Neuromuscular Disorders 2010 20(3) 162-165
    • Dystrophinopathy in Girls with Limb Girdle Muscular Dystrophy Phenotype, Golla S, Agadi S, Burns DK, Marks W, Batish SD, del Gaudio D, Iannaccone ST Journal of Clinical Neuromuscular Disease 2010 11:203 203 - 208
  • Professional Activities

    • Academy of Neurology
    • Academy of Pediatrics
    • American Association for the Advancement of Science
    • New York Academy of Science
    • Southern Society for Pediatric Research
  • Awards and Honors

    • D Magazine Best Pediatric Specialists (2010-2013, 2016-2018, 2020)
    • Special award from graduating Pediatric Neurology residents for mentoring (2010)
    • Member of Executive Council American Neurological Association 2008 - Present (2008)
    • Texas 2008 Super Doctors - Texas Monthly (2008)
    • Chair, Section on Child Neurology - American Academy of Neurology 2007 - 2009 (2007)
    • Neurology Alumni Award - University of Rochester Department of Neurology (2000)

Where I Provide Care: