Disclosure Statement

You must select "I Understand" to see results.

The physicians in our directory are members of a Children’s Health hospital medical staff or are credentialed by Children’s Health for managed care participation. Some physicians are employed by Children’s Health, some are employed elsewhere, and some maintain an independent medical practice. There is no fee for being listed in our directory. The physicians populating your search results are selected based on the criteria that you provide and are then listed alphabetically. If a physician is no longer on a Children’s Health medical staff or participating in a Children’s Health managed care agreement, he/she would not be eligible to be listed in our directory.

Michelle Leigh McDonald, MD $$

Pediatric Transplant Surgeon

Assistant Professor at UT Southwestern Medical Center

Languages Spoken:
UT Southwestern Pediatric Group

Education and Training

Medical School
University of Texas Health Science Center (2011)
University of California San Diego (2017), Urology
Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center (2019), Kidney Transplantation
Board Certification
American Board of Urology
  • Research Interests

    • Living-donor kidney transplantation
    • Kidney paired donation for incompatible living kidney pairs
    • Laparoscopic donor nephrectomy
    • Perioperative urologic considerations in kidney transplant
  • Publications

    • Randomized controlled trial of a quadratus lumborum block with liposomal bupivacaine for postoperative analgesia in laparoscopic donor nephrectomy. Gritsch HA, Osbun N, Grogan T, Fero KE, Partownavid P, Stockman J, Sadoughi N, Park E, Miller E, Blumberg J, McDonald M, Cowan N, Shah N, Rahman S, Clinical transplantation 2021 09 35 9 e14403
    • Chapter 31: Disorders of the Adrenal Glands in Smith & Tanagho’s General Urology. Michelle L. McDonald and Christopher J. Kane (2020), McGraw Hill
  • Professional Activities

    • American Society of Transplant Surgeons
    • American Urological Association
  • Awards and Honors

    • House Staff of the Year nominee 2017, University of California, San Diego
    • Veteran High Five Award 2015-2016, Veterans Affairs of San Diego
    • George Kaplan Research Award 2016, University of California, San Diego
    • Western Section Resident Scholarship 2015, American Urological Association
    • Western Section Wesson Resident Essay Winner 2015, American Urological Association
    • Excellence in Patient Care and Education Award 2013, University of California, San Diego Urology
    • Jack R. Robinson Urology Scholarship 2011, UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
    • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society 2011, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    • Cum Laude 2006, University of Texas at Austin

Where I Provide Care: