What is MOC

What is MOC?


Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is a four-part program that drives physicians to provide the absolute best possible care for their patients.  

Developed by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) in conjunction with 24 certifying boards, MOC provides physicians the foundation to demonstrate lifelong learning and education.  

The four-part system addresses: 

  • Part 1 – Physician Professional Standing  
  • Part 2 – Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment  
  • Part 3 – Cognitive Expertise Through Examination  
  • Part 4 – Improvements in Professional Practice  

Improving Professional Practice (Part 4) of Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requires physicians to demonstrate competence in systematic measurement and improvement in patient care. The Children’s Health℠ MOC Portfolio Program helps physicians receive Part 4 credit for leading or participating in quality improvement efforts within Children’s Health. 

Visit the American Board of Pediatrics site for more information on MOC.