Disclosure Statement

You must select "I Understand" to see results.

The physicians in our directory are members of a Children’s Health hospital medical staff or are credentialed by Children’s Health for managed care participation. Some physicians are employed by Children’s Health, some are employed elsewhere, and some maintain an independent medical practice. There is no fee for being listed in our directory. The physicians populating your search results are selected based on the criteria that you provide and are then listed alphabetically. If a physician is no longer on a Children’s Health medical staff or participating in a Children’s Health managed care agreement, he/she would not be eligible to be listed in our directory.

Ponciano Dalmacio Cruz Jr., MD $$

Pediatric Dermatologist

Professor at UT Southwestern Medical Center

Languages Spoken:
UT Southwestern Pediatric Group

Education and Training

Medical School
University of Philippines (1979)
Makati Medical Center (1980), Rotating
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1986), Dermatology
Kettering Memorial Hospital and Medical Center (1984), Internal Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1989), Dermatology
UT Southwestern Medical Center (1987), Allergy & Immunology
Board Certification
American Board of Dermatology
  • Research Interests

    • Alopecia Areata (Hair Loss)
    • Contact Dermatitis
  • Publications

    • DC-HIL is a negative regulator of T lymphocyte activation., Chung J-S, Sato K, Dougherty I, Cruz PD Jr., Ariizumi K Blood 2007 109 4320-7
    • Syndecan-4 mediates the co-inhibitory function of DC-HIL on T cell activation., Chung J-S, Dougherty I, Cruz PD Jr, Ariizumi K J Immunol 2007 179 5778-84
    • Identification and expression of dectin-2 promoter in transgenic mouse., Gavin ACP, Chung J-S, Sato K, Ariizumi K, Cruz PD Jr. Exp Dermatol 2005 14 281-8
    • Ultraviolet B radiation upregulates expression of dectin-2 in epidermal Langerhans cells by activating the gene promoter., Bonkobara M, Yagihara H, Chung J-S, Washizu T, Ariizumi, K, Cruz PD Jr Photochem Photobiol 2005 81 944-8
    • Freshly isolated spleen dendritic cells and epidermal Langerhans cells undergo similar phenotypic and functional changes during short term culture., Girolomoni G, Simon JC, Bergstresser PR, Cruz PD Jr. J Immunol 1990 145 2820-6
  • Professional Activities

    • American Academy of Dermatology
    • American Board of Dermatology
    • American Contact Dermatitis Society
    • American Dermatological Association
    • Society for Investigative Dermatology
  • Awards and Honors

    • Excellence in Education Award - American Academy of Dermatology (1992)
    • Fitzpatrick Research Award - Kao Corporation of Japan (1991)
    • Teacher of the Year - Voted by Derm Residents at UT Southwestern (1991)
    • Outstanding Research Award - Upjohn Company (1988)
    • Stelwagon Award - American Academy of Dermatology (1988)

Where I Provide Care: