International Classification of Diseases 10 (ICD-10)

ICD 10 is a classification system that is used for reporting of morbidity and mortality information.  The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Health and Human Services is requiring transition to ICD 10 on 10/01/2014 for classification and payment of services rendered.  Nationally, the health care community will be transitioning from ICD 9 to ICD 10.  ICD 10 increases the number of codes available three fold allowing for greater specificity. 

Objectives: Following completion of this educational activity, participants will be able to:

  • Review ICD 10 background
  • Explain the need for change from ICD 9 to ICD 10
  • Recognize the impact to coding
  • Identify the timeline for the ICD 10 transition
  • Utilize resources to support the transition

Katherine Lusk, MHSM, RHIA is the Senior Director of Information Management and Exchange at Children’s Medical Center Dallas.  Her responsibilities include Health Information Management, Clinical Documentation Improvement and facilitating the transition from ICD 9 to ICD 10. 

Quiz for CME Credit

View the Video